New prescription: It’s cold but go to the beach anyway

Generic: Enjoy natural wonders in all their facets

Common Side Effects: Feelings of calm or serenity, wet feet, finding something special Stop “It’s cold but go to the beach anyway” and call your doctor at once if you have a serious side effect such as: You’ve stayed in the cold so long you are at risk for hypothermia, you encounter sea monsters

 Hello my dears!

There are a few clarifications I wanted to make concerning the objective of this blog.  In no way do we promote or shun any type of treatment different people use to maintain their functionality.  You might use medications, cognitive behavioral therapy, dialectical behavioral therapy, Alcoholics Anonymous, religious practices, electroconvulsive therapy, meditation, transcranial magnetic stimulation or herbal remedies.  As long as an individual is not hurting themselves or others they should use what treatment works for them.  As many know there is a delicate balance to maintain with mental illness, not one treatment alone keeps us functioning.  Other important factors are a balanced diet, hobbies, support systems, exercise, ext.  This is a judgement free ward! Please contact us with any additional information you might need! To further explore our goal here at ASR (Authority of a Schizoaffective Retina) I will wear the role of a bad poker player and show you my cards.  We will start with basic definitions or suits if you will.

 

  • Schizoaffective Disorder:Schizoaffective disorder is a serious mental illness that affects about one in 100 people. Schizoaffective disorder as a diagnostic entity has features that resemble both schizophrenia and also serious mood (affective) symptoms. A person who has schizoaffective disorder will experience delusions, hallucinations, other symptoms that are characteristic of schizophrenia and significant disturbances in their mood (e.g., affective symptoms). According to the DSM-IV-TR, people who experience more than two weeks of psychotic symptoms in the absence of severe mood disturbances—and then have symptoms of either depression or bipolar disorder—may have schizoaffective disorder. Schizoaffective disorder is thought to be between the bipolar and schizophrenia diagnoses as it has features of both.”

 

 

  • Retina: commonly compared to the film in a camera, the retina processed images in the back of the eye and converts them into electrical signals through the optic nerve to the brain.

 

 So dear readers,

your humble narrator suffers from Schizoaffective Disorder, no better or worse than anyone else.  Although it is my goal to remain as objective as possible I have entitled the blog “Authority of a Schizoaffective Retina” because this is still my worldview.  I hope it shows that there would be little difference with each post if the title had been “Authority of a Young Woman’s Retina”, or “Authority of a Nursing Assistant’s Retina”, or “Authority of a Blonde’s Retina”, or even better yet “Authority of a Goth Retina.”  All those parts describe me but none of them alone define who I am.  Hopefully you will see a person’s mental illness does not define them either.

 

Asylum Inpatient Press:

Last month was the sixth “World Hearing Voices Congress” and within their title they allude to the segment of Odysseus journey where he is lured by the sound of the Sirens.  Even though the congress has past there still is valid reading to their cause and helpful links to important information! http://www.symvoli.gr/conference/hearingvoices/en/page/main

 

Help and Support:  

In direct relation this is a link to intervoice.  Intervoice is an international movement driving to educate and support voice hearers and the general populace to avoid stigma.  http://www.intervoiceonline.org/

Personal Editorial-

Almost a year ago I lost my adopted father (also my maternal grandfather but I called him Beau). I was born into a forceful under toe to drift in a temperamental sea.  At age six the destruction around me had formed an ominous tidal wave.  To my great fortune my wave had ceased against a mighty pillar holding up a protective barrier against my storm.  Beau had saved me.  And no matter where I am in the world when I look in the direction of Hopkinton New Hampshire I will see the vast, embedded water mark where my wave broke and he caught me.

My therapist recommended using “grounding exercises” to help me cope with my grief.  Grounding excerises can be anything directly stimulating one of our five senses to bring us back into the present moment. So today in November my boyfriend took me to the beach so I could find my “Beau” rock.  I walked around the waters edge for a little while until I found a rock that spoke to me.  Parts of it are a little rougher but that is fitting the subject.  Already I have noticed the benefit of this tactile grounding exercise. Learn a little more about ground exercises starting here

http://bpd.about.com/od/livingwithbpd/a/grounding.htm

Asylum Art:

twilight-eye2

Rod Serling’s Twilight Zone episode Eye of the Beholder. A young woman has undergone the maximum limit for surgeries to make her appear “normal.” We do not see her face or the face of other characters in the hospital but we are led to believe she is unusually ugly.  With dramatic horror her face is revealed and is unchanged BUT we the viewers see that her character is what we would perceive as beautiful.  Our other characters look deformed (by our standards).  Our young woman is sent away to a commune for people with her physical misfortune.

twilight-eye4

Although this particular tale is not tangibly referring to mental illness it is a microcosm for how society treats what is supposed to be normal. It might come off as benign but it is troublesome when documentaries or news stations refer to a normal brain and an abnormal brain.  Yes mental illness is an actual abnormality but unintentionally this implies the person is abnormal in a different way than folks with other abnormalities such as diabetes or muscular sclerosis.  Is it the words abnormal or normal? No. It’s the stigma that has been created in even our modern society that creates problems.  We must spread awareness and share our stories so that our abnormality doesn’t appear horrific, although the suffering we undergo is a horror we are not monsters.

twilight-zone-season-2-eye-of-the-beholder

Answer to last page’s Riddle: A river

New Riddle:  What walks all day on its head?