Prescription: Do not judge those that might not understand.

Generitic: Don’t take it personally

Common Side Effects: Feelings of calm or serenity, higher self esteem, making new friends Stop “Do not judge those that might not understand” and call your doctor at once if you have a serious side effect such as: Others are taking advantage of you, you lose the ability to know good from bad

 

 

Hello my dears

I have received some wonderful submissions and admire the bravery and talent they have shared with us.

For clarification:

  • This is a judgment free ward!
  • ASR wants this to be a safe place to promote awareness and inclusion.
  • We want to promote and create new advocates!

Inpatient Asylum Press:

A note from Management:

When you leave something stable and comfortable behind others will arch neck and shoulders. They will recoil in response and their subconscious stresses and hopes you won’t notice the distance away from you it wills to creation.  An immediate response you’ll hear is your worn label as a risk taker.

Occupation: Daredevil,

Special Skills: Avoidance

I accept that but I think there needs to be an important aspect to the definition of “risk taker.”  There is a strong held difference between the species of risk takers.  Are you an individual who takes risks because they simply enjoy taking risks in general or because they receive a high from taking risks? Often it is a fool’s folly. Often this variation is not as they appear, there is always more. Still waters run deep.

As a lunatic you can be stripped of everything important to you more easily. It’s all gone.

  • Family with high hopes for you.
  • Your career that came to define you in some circles.
  • The brown haired barista who keeps a special smile for you in the corner of her mouth until she hands you your coffee.
  • A friend that convinced you to play pranks on the substitute teacher. And when they were older they called because you will listen to
  • Our connections can weaken gossamer.

During my time in the state hospital and my time in a women’s shelter I only owned a few clothes and my prescribed drugs.  A positive side to this was that I became delivered from the concept of conventional life.  I was delivered from goals of clear skin, perfect teeth, societies ideas of the perfect female body, and societies ideas on how I (or anyone) should live my life. I AM NOT defined by my education, relationships, career, where and how I live, my bank account, who I love, and my mental illness.  The bigger factors listed are important secondary aspects of my life that don’t define me but are defined by who I am at the core.

You’ve been a victim of loss, a mourner of a sturdy ground and reborn to realize you should have watched where you moved your feet more closely as you danced through your highs and lows because the dance renders you blind to the cliffs along side you.  The ones you love will stand next to you and as much as you  would like to say they had pushed you, you know the truth. They knew they couldn’t hold up the weight of your sickness, if they tried….they would fall with you.

You’ve fallen off the edge, and there is one important voice to hear below. It tells you that no matter where a person stands in life they can never come close to fathom what the bottom will be like (no matter how fortunate or unfortunate they are). At the bottom you learn that as long as you live in this life there is always another edge, a deeper bottom. The pit is eternally endless and you can not resurrect from the bottom truly until you learn that lesson fully. That is why some people hit rock bottom, over and over again, it’s comparable to one of Dante’s levels of hell. At the gates of hell we must remember the fortune tellers with heads screwed backwards because they wanted to see the future through unnatural means.

Elyn Saks who herself has a “beautiful mind” has an amazing story of strength and perseverance.  Seven years ago your schizoaffective narrator was told the best I could hope for was to live in a boarding house and maybe work toward getting a job.  My head could not accept this, THEY were delusional. I was restrained, put away in quiet room, left drooling on myself in front of a nurses station and one day I had awakened. Today I still have a way to go with my education but not to a point of abnormality.  Even though I sometimes lose that faith in myself I am fortune to have a support system to direct my tippy toes away from the edge.

-Emma Retina

Contemporary Asylum News:

New real-world data highlight health and financial impact of caring for an adult with schizophrenia

Seasonal depression ’caused by increased levels of serotonin transporter protein’

Help and other voices:

ASR is very touched by the submission of one man’s story whose daughter suffered greatly from her illness.

Dadiozee has entitled it “Dadumentary: My thoughts on her first two years”

Please take the time to watch his story, it is well worth it!

Asylum Art:

Skipper 1

Again we are fortunate to recieve a submission from Sharon Skipper!

You can see more of Sharon’s artwork at  http://www.saatchiart.com/Sharon77

1171780-7

“My work is about mental illness, life and people. I

have schizoaffective disorder and borderline personality disorder. My

work started out with paintings photography collages. I then wrote a

book about a relationship along with having borderline personality

disorder which wasn’t good for me. The book ends with the start of my

delusions. Schizophrenia. As it happened while writing the book, along

with loads of written art and poetry of my illness while going through

it for a year without any medication in 2005 I then went on

medication. I had a relapse in 2011, my art then consists of more

paintings, drawings, collages, written art and ideas for installation.”

1198611-7

sskipperskipper 3

skipper 2

Riddle:

I have

No legs have I to dance,
No lungs have I to breathe,
No life have I to live or die
And yet I do all three.
What am I?