New prescription: Be outside for at least one hour today

Generic: Enjoy the benefits of our natural habitat

Common Side Effects: An instantanious sense of calm, gratitude for simple pleasures, noticing the larger sceme of wonderment around you,

Stop “Be outside for at least one hour today” and call your doctor at once if you have a serious side effect such as: Your little toes get too cold,  you are attacked by a disgruntled hiker/park goer, you start feeling to anxious (it happens to many of us)

Hello my dears!

Management here,

otherwise known as your humble narrator Emma Retina.  To reiterate guidelines this site is for our publication to promote awareness of the issues of mental illness, promote inclusion and eradicate stigma relating to mental illness. Concerning our facebook page; it’s primary purpose is to make ASR new publications more accessible.  We do not publish new work on the facebook page.

 

Sorry my dears if it takes a little time to get back to you, I want to give your work the full attention it deserves as opposed to sending an automatic response.

What happens when we publish your work:

  • No worries, I will always email you back after receiving your submission
  • I will email you when we have published your work
  • Included within that email I will provide you with a link to the publication
  • Additionally a link to your mention on the facebook page
  • As always I send my gratitude for those of you who share your work with us

Some of you know I like to remind folks that this is a judgement free ward! Our only rules inforced are that we do not promote anything that could be considered self harm or harm to others (emotional or physical).  Any other healthy means someone manages their functionality is peachy keen, organic with us.


Asylum Inpatient Press:

 

Contemporary Asylum News:

  Green Cities, Good Health

“Encounters with nearby nature help alleviate mental fatigue by relaxing and restoring the mind. Within built environments parks and green spaces are settings for cognitive respite, as they encourage social interaction and de-stressing through exercise or conversation, and provide calming settings. Having quality landscaping and vegetation in and around the places where people work and study is a good investment. Both visual access and being within green space helps to restore the mind’s ability to focus. This can improve job and school performance, and help alleviate mental stress and illness.”

Summary prepared by Kathleen Wolf, Ph.D. and Katrina Flora, December 26, 2010.

You can read much further in-depth about the benefits nature has on different diseases of the mind, general mood, concentration and ability to function here

Photos by Craig F. Walker, Stories by Jennifer Brown

breakdown-22405x


“Dee Fleming is comforted by her daughter Amy while talking about her son. Diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder, Dee’s son ingested prescription medications and cleaning supplies then soaked himself with gasoline and lit himself on fire. When his burns no longer required hospitalization the doctors said he was free to go and he did not need in-patient psychiatric treatment. “He doesn’t think that he would ever have done this had he not been driven by forces in his mind,” Dee says.”

breakdown-3494

“Sue Pelletier kneels next to her husband Tom during a panic attack at their home in Brighton. Sue encourages Tom to pray. “Take a couple of deep breaths. Let it out. Say Jesus.” Tom repeats, “Jesus.” Sue says, “Just tell Satan, ‘go to hell.’“ Tom repeats, “Satan go to hell.”

street001

“Larry Robinson Jr., 64, wears his ‘disguise’ while sitting at the Saint Francis Center in Denver. He is not wearing the mask because he is concerned about catching a cold. “It’s central casting, it’s Hollywood,” he says. “You can change your appearance. It’s mostly cosmetic. It’s Hollywood. That’s what it is.” A former Marine, he says the government diagnosed him with paranoid schizophrenia in the 1990s but he stopped taking the ‘pharmaceutical solutions’ he was prescribed.”

This presentation  is a continuation of a story submitted to us by David A. Carlson who has been educator of  English.  His presentation is long for one publication so ASR will be posting his story ongoingly through out future publications.

You can read the first installment of the story here http://schizoaffectiveretina.com/2014/11/23/new-prescription-think-of-one-aspect-of-your-life-you-are-grateful-for/

 

The Disquieted Family: Disturbance and Distress in the Carlson Home

By David A. Carlson

Orignally presented at the “Adolescence, Mental Illness, and the Impact on Society,” Mt. San Jacinto College–Menifee Honors Seminar, 26 March 2012

Clearly, the expert, Dr. Jamison, would be ecstatic over this seminar on adolescence and mental illness.  The presumption that she and I share is that adolescents need to be more self-aware of the possibility that they or those they know may at some point face serious mental illness.  As with any disease, if we understand the symptoms and the nature of the diagnosis at a given point in our lives, then we can recognize the disease in time to have it diagnosed before it desolates our lives.  And mental illness in any form will desolate and even destroy.  To continue with Dr. Jamison’s statement, she says, “Mood disorders are terribly painful illnesses, and they are isolating illnesses.  And they make people feel terrible about themselves when, in fact, they can be treated.  The suicide rate is high in adolescents with bipolar illness.  These are serious illnesses; they kill just as cancer does.  They lead to alcohol and drug abuse in many people.  They’re devastating, [but] they’re treatable.”

In my case, it was simply a lack of knowledge of mental health that kept me from getting help, though even the one summer during my teen years that my parents sent me to a psychologist, my parents were sure to tell me not to inform my friends that I was doing such a thing.  There was shame associated with mental health services.  But if I had known then what I know now, I would have sought help at a much earlier age.  For so many adolescents, however, it is stigma that keeps them from seeking help.  On the PsychCentral website (“When Mental Illness Stigma Turns Inward,” 26 May 2011), Margarita Tartakovsky, M. S., writes, “Not only do the [mentally ill] have to contend with serious disruptive symptoms, they still have to deal with rampant stigma. . . . We see stigma everywhere.  Every time violence is automatically connected to mental illness in an article or news report, we see it.”  In a footnote to that last statement Ms. Tartakovsky points out that “Research has shown no causal link; risk for violence increases with drugs and alcohol, which is true for people without mental illness, and with the presence of past violent behavior.”  Granted, the mentally ill often self-medicate with drugs and alcohol, especially prior to getting professional help for their disorders.  And mental illness can lead to violence.  But Ms. Tartakovsky’s point is simply that such things exist independently of mental illness as well.

At any rate, Ms. Tartakovsky continues, “We see [stigma] in movies and other forms of media.  We see it at work where stereotypes might be perpetuated, where employees are afraid to ‘come out’ with their diagnosis.”  (As a side note: I have to say that I feel a nervous comfortability in sharing my illness in a setting where it can all get back to my employers.  There are those who are higher than me on the administrative and faculty ladder at MSJC who are aware of my illness and have been very supportive and patient.  I am grateful, because this is a unique situation.)  Ms. Tartakovsky continues, “We see [stigma] with our families or friends, who might say versions of ‘just snap out of it’ or ‘get over it already’ or offer ‘advice’ like sleep more, eat less, look on the bright side and try harder.”  Indeed, I have faced all of those scenarios named by Ms. Tartakovsky.  But adolescents face so much more given their natural body and mind and emotional changes taking place while they face the confusion that comes with symptoms of mental illness.  Stigma must be broken.  One of the suggestions Ms. Tartakovsky makes, though she only makes it for depression, is that those facing stigma and self-stigma should “Practice strategic disclosure” of the illness.  And here is where I come to you today, trusting in your maturity and wisdom while I tell you much of my story with mental illness.


Asylum Art:

Single Piece submission:

Lucy Wainwright – This was Lucy’s second submission to ASR!

Double exposure on Lomography 100 film shot in a Diana F+ camera.

lucy

You can see more of Lucy’s photography here

This submission is musical pieces and the story of Therese Holm!

Starting Five Lines:

your home stands unfimiliar

the ego dies

symbols arise

(the hole inside your heart

as it opened and closed)

 

Therese’s  Story:

The idea of the project which is due to this 7” I got in 2005 when I wrote this:

I will buy a field recorder since I suspect they will lock me up. I have suspected this for a week now to the appearance of their fabrications. I have carried the idea for a long time to the appearance of what has been done in what has been, I have suspected they will lock me up in the future regardless if I am healthy or not. Something to occupy myself with during the months I am imprisoned. All sounds are from the ward, also other parts of the hospital and sounds I recorded when I eventually was allowed to go outside and during furlough…

Just as I suspect one day in 2007 a locksmith comes and break into my apartment. Two policemen come in and a nurse. As I lie on the floor they try to put handcuffs on me. One police thinks its terrific fun when I bite his shoe… “did you see! she bit my shoe!” he says to his colleague. After ca. 4 months I get the chance to start the project. I’m then allowed to go outside 2 times 2 hours if I remember correctly and then I have precise the time to leave to a music store at Odengatan which not lies so far from the hospital and obtain a Roland Edirol 09 and a Boss digital recorder + two guitar cords. All goes down inside the pocket of my jacket and they only search through my bag when I get back. The guitar I am allowed to have. The first track I recorded is “Frigång” (A4). The other track I recorded is the sound of my foot which I drag on the floor and loops by pressing down A and B on the field-recorder (B2). Sometimes I get interrupted (which I thought of could happen) so I have locked the door from inside when I record and during the time they locks it up with their keys I have time to put the recording equipment under the quilt so they don’t take the stuff from me. It’s on the bed everything lies. The field recorder, the adapters, the porta and the cords. It’s on a four-channel I record. In the corridor that leads out there is an electric central which emits a small and constant sound which I recorded. I also recorded the ventilation which is in the ceiling above the toilet seat. It sound like something is burning but its the wind.

There are things id like to record as when the staff is violent. Also I would like to have the hearings recorded as when someone says “it would be inhumane to release this person to its home” or “its just a matter of time before she attack humans”. They (on the negotiations) records everything that is said on a dictaphone.

2008 I end up at the ward again and continue the project. It’s when I leave for permission i get the same recording equipment I had in 2007. I record the track “Permission” A1. It’s on the first permission of the stay that I record tram nr 1. When I come home I transfer everything i have recorded at the hospital to my computer so that I have space to record more when I return. An elevator that I recorded in 2007 (A2) och “Kyrkklockor” 2008 (A3). The last track (B4) is recorded on the toilet in room 9. It begins with the water from the sink. When the LPT have run out and I have returned home I put everything into Pro Tools and cut away some of the recorded. So far it has become 9 tracks which all together is 9 minutes and 4 seconds.

Therese’s Music:

Here is a link to a demo intitled Catatonic Schizophrenic which Therese says “it came to my thought when i came back from the hospital in 2007 that the diagnose didnt matter, it was just two words for them to justify their brutality.”

 

More of her music intitled “Assault and Battery” can be found here www.yoamoeba.bandcamp.com

With tracks:

1. Permission
2. the Elevator 00:38
3. Physical changes 00:29
4. Frigång 00:47
5. With no feelings 00:44
6. Seven months 02:59
7. Assault and Battery 01:03
8. Kyrkklockor 00:35
9. I hate the ones 00:49

Riddles:

The answer to the last publication’s riddle was a coin

Riddle Me This: What is a word made up of 4 letters, yet is also made up of 3. Sometimes is written with 9 letters, and then with 4. Rarely consists of 6, and never is written with 5.