Prescription: When looking into the kaleidoscope try to see the brighter colors!a

Generic:(Even lighter than rose) tint your world.

Common Side Effects: A momentary feeling of positivity, new revelations from looking at something with a new perspective Stop “When looking into the kaleidoscope try to se the brighter colors” and call your doctor at once if you have a serious side effect such as: The colors become blinding, you don’t have a kaleidoscope

 

Hello my dears,

management here! I am honored to have received all of your submissions! I will get back to everyone, I simply prefer to review someone’s work before responding.  This way your work get the attention it deserves!

Inpatient Asylum Press:

Contemporary Asylum News:

An Important Message from  Nami’s medical director Ken Duckworth concerning the holiday blues.

 

“The holidays offer opportunities for fun and family, but managing time, demands and interactions with others can also prove to be challenging. In particular, for those suffering with a mental illness, the holidays can add even more stress and anxiety to their mental health.

To that point, I’d like to not only offer some suggestions to help those who suffer with mental illness, but to also let them, their families and their friends know where to find help in a crisis.”

———Read the rest of Fonda Bryant’s editorial and list of coping skill suggestions here

Arts and Entertainment:

“Emilie Autumn uses her Electrical Violin for an 8 minute solo to keep the voices away.”

 

Our own voices:

The Disquieted Family: Disturbance and Distress in the Carlson Home

Orignally presented at the “Adolescence, Mental Illness, and the Impact on Society,” Mt. San Jacinto College–Menifee Honors Seminar, 26 March 2012

David A Carlson

With all that in mind, I should say that there are a number of ways I could have set up this presentation for us today.  I have chosen primarily to read a paper that I have written for this presentation and then leave some time at the end for questions and discussion.  I recognize that listening to a read paper is not the most exciting thing there is.  But it will help me to stay focused and to convey as completely as possible the thoughts and feelings that I have.  I did my best to write this piece in my more lucid moments.  I hope you will make note of your questions as we go along and feel confident in asking or sharing the things you think of as I read.  Despite the amount of time I have put in to preparing this presentation, there surely are things left out and not thought of.  My hope is that our discussion will bring such things out into the open.  The things I have to tell you and discuss with you may seem odd to some, though perhaps not so much for those in this seminar.  I am a diagnosed psychotic with a mood disorder.  In other words, as I mentioned previously, I have schizoaffective disorder.  There could be some in the world who chuckle, if only on the inside, at some of the strangeness that is me.  On the other hand, some in the world might wonder because I do not drool on myself or babble incoherently.  Many with my disorder are high functioning.  Some who know of my disorder might be interested enough to want to take one of my classes, maybe in some sort of drive-by-an-accident curiosity, or there might be others who would prefer to avoid me for fear that I am incapable of thinking rationally, particularly in the grading process.  Some might be sensitive to the degree that they see me as being compassionate as a result of my experiences and thus might be a kind and considerate teacher.  I am not even going to try to argue that I should be taken one way or another.  If some wish to pass such judgment they may do so.  But I choose not to be quiet about my experiences and the experiences of my family with mental illness.  Mental illness has done so much to disquiet us, seeking to quiet the stigma regarding our mental illnesses is our best alternative.  So I will be frank and speak to you as though I were speaking directly about any academic subject.  Though mental illness is a very emotional subject, with emotions ranging wide, a certain measure of dispassion ought to be had when discussing it in a setting such as we have here today.

My wife tells me that some of this presentation is rather harsh in tone.  I recognize that.  I apologize.  I hope you can understand a bit of my bitterness, a bitterness that really is driven by fear.  When I open up the way I am going to open up for you—and I have seldom done so (I think my recent disability hearing is the closest I have come to divulging what I am going to divulge to you)—I am out of my range of control.  I have social phobias in connection with the schizoaffective disorder.  I do not do well in groups of people.  The exception to that rule is when I teach.  When I teach I feel in control because I can view the whole class as though they are one.  That, with the fact that I am in charge, allows me to do my job.  I do not have to fear the unknown or embarrassment of unexpected things happening because I can plan out the events and, to some degree, dictate the conversation.

My bitterness in discussing my mental illness as it has developed over my life through adolescence and adulthood stems from the stigma of which I have already mentioned.  This past year, a number of my friends participated in a sort of Facebook game wherein the scenario was given that the player had woken up in a mental hospital and would follow the instructions to determine which of his or her Facebook contacts and friends would be there with him or her, what they would be in the mental hospital for, how long they would be in the hospital, and the like.  It was, for many, great fun to call each other “crazy.”  I have been in mental hospitals, or behavioral hospitals as they are often called, on numerous occasions because my life needed saving.  Each time I was in jeopardy of killing myself or harming others.  So my posted reply to this “game” was a simple query: would you play such a game if the scenario were having cancer or some other life threatening illness?  Mental illness is life threatening to a great many who suffer from it.  I wonder, though, if I was unkind in my response to this “game.”  I suppose that is better left to our discussion at the end of this reading.  Then again, the widely-read, rather liberal online newspaper, The Huffington Post, has a weekly “comedy” piece known as “The Psycho-meter” which rates the “craziness” of people based on stupid or absurd things they have said and/or done over the previous week.  This disturbs me greatly.  Again, perhaps it should not.  But something inside me wishes people would respect “craziness” as serious business rather than an opportunity for jokes and play.

So, yes, I am a bit bitter, even if my bitterness is a bit premature in some cases, and assuredly fearful in sharing my mental illness circumstances with you.  I do beg your pardon for this, however.  I am grateful that you are here willing to listen.  But I want you to consider: if I, a grown man, can be bitter and fearful over the issue of mental illness, how must adolescents who suffer from mental illness feel?  With all the other life pressures that adolescents go through, how do ill adolescents survive mental illness?  The sad truth is that many do not survive.  Or if they do survive, they are significantly scarred.

Asylum Artwork

This is the work of Martha Pennington:

Rub It Away
speak no evil
“Speak No Evil”
Solitary Passion
“Solitary Passion”

so small
“So Small”
If Only
“If Only”

“I suffer from Anxiety disorder, Panic Disorder, and Manic depression. I currently am not on medication, but I use art as a coping method.” You can see more of Martha’s work here: http://marthapenningtonart.weebly.com/

 

The work of Andrea Darling:

Andrea suffers from Bipolar Disorder and she writes her own blog.

adarling3

adarling2

adarling

Riddle:

The answer to last page’s riddle:  the word ‘what’ has 4 letters in it, ‘yet’ has three, ‘sometimes’ has 9, ‘then’ has 4, ‘rarely’ has 6, and ‘never’ has 5.

Riddle me This:

Different lights make me strange,

for each one my size will change. What am I?